Walking the Fine Line

© Samantha A. Miller

Being on vacation has its advantages…sleeping in, no routine, no real schedule…but tell my brain that! I have been up since 6am this morning after staying up late. Why? Because that is what my body has been conditioned for. Normally, I am awake at 6am just before my kids bound out of their room hungry for breakfast. I have been getting up early all my life, but I have been doing the “mom routine” for five years now. It’s my norm.

I realized this week that I have been a Christian for fifteen years. In that time, I have stumbled, fallen, rolled over, been walked on and gotten back up more times than I can count. These fifteen years have conditioned me for my spiritual walk with Christ. My daily routines have set the pace for my spiritual growth.

God longs to have a relationship with us, each of us. We are His children, and while He doesn’t have favorites, there are those He is closer to because of the amount of time He gets to spend with them. Those who spent time with Him daily, have a keener sense of right and wrong than those who never spend time with Him or only occasionally open their Bibles. And this is where I am headed today.

I have been told since I was a young Christian that my mind can deceive my heart, that I can be led astray, and that Jesus has given me everything I need to discern what is right and what is wrong. How is all of that possible? It all begins with our routines!

If you spend time with God in the morning, reading the Word, memorizing Scripture and praying, then you are conditioning your body for spiritual growth and discernment. His Word contains everything we need for daily living – rules and guidelines, things to do and not do, warnings and consequences. It’s all right there – we just have to read it and learn it.

Parents take the time to teach their children right from wrong. In order to keep them on the right track, the parents set boundaries. And when the child tests the boundaries, there are consequences for their actions. That is exactly what God did in the Bible. Today’s society says that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, that there isn’t one right way, and that we should be more tolerant of other people. The world sees things very differently than God sees them.

Have you noticed that when you stopped listening to God, that your perspective of right and wrong changed? You started thinking more like the world – not like a child of God.

Read Acts 17:10-12. I will refer back to this passage in a couple of the next blog posts because we need to look at it from other angles as well. But I want to show you something. Pay close attention to verse 11, “they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so.”

These Jews searched the Scriptures daily to figure out what was right and what was wrong. They didn’t just take Paul’s word for it, they didn’t just accept it as truth. They studied and proved it true or false by what God said. But how will you know what is right and wrong unless you spend time in the Word of God?

Don’t just take someone’s word for it. Find out for yourself! We can all be led astray, and unfortunately, we may think we are right, when we are wrong.  Don’t let your mind defeat your heart. I encourage you to spend some time today in the Bible, read it for yourself and discover new teachings from God that you maybe forgot or didn’t realize were there.

Leave a Reply

