Life More Abundant

Have you ever had one of “those” days? Nothing seems to fall into place, there’s always one more thing to add to your never-ending to do list, and at the end of the day the only thing you have to show for your day is a bad hair do and tiredness? You are not alone – we’ve all been there!

When I read John 10 today, and read in verse 10 that Jesus came to give us life more abundantly, I initially was reminded of Mark Lowery. Look at what your life was like before Christ truly got a hold of you. Before you had stress, obligations, deadlines, and headaches. Once Christ got a hold of your life, you had stress, obligations, deadlines, and headaches.

Do you sometimes feel that as a Christian these hurdles are increased? Why is that? Because now that Jesus is in your life, there are TWO of you carrying the burden. Jesus said in Matthew 11:30, “My yoke is easy and my burden is light.” He can handle so much more than you can. And many times you will find that the increases are supposed to lead you in building your faith and leaning on Him, rather than discouraging you!

In my own personal life, I have let things get me down, slow me down, and tie me down. But I found that life doesn’t have to have those effects on me. All I have to do is lean on Him. He didn’t come into my life to make things harder, He simply wants to make me more like Him – and one of those ways is to handle more burdens with the grace and love that He has.

Life was not meant to be as hard and difficult as we have made it, but we’ve allowed life to weigh us down. Rather than focusing on the things that bring along hardships and cause us to title our days, we need to start looking to Him.

And the best part about this more abundant life…the great things are increased as well!

Leave a Reply

